The Episcopal Diocese
of El Camino Real
B.V. Sargent House
154 Central Avenue
Salinas, CA 93901

Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Mailing Address
PO Box 689
Salinas, CA 93902

Phone: (831) 394-4465


Diocesan Leadership

Boards, Committees, Commissions, and the 42nd Diocesan Convention

Board of Trustees and Diocesan Corporation

The Diocesan Corporation is served by members of a Board of Trustees, of which the Bishop is President. The Corporation administers the real property and other assets of the diocese, and acts on behalf of Diocesan Convention between annual meetings of Convention to develop and implement the policies, programs, and budget approved and adopted by Convention. The diocesan Finance Committee and Property Committee operate under the guidance of the Board of Trustees.

Read more

Standing Committee

The Standing Committee is one of three diocesan bodies whose existence is mandated by the Constitution of The Episcopal Church (others being the Finance Committee and the Commission on Ministry). The Standing Committee approves encumbrances on properties, recommends people for ordination and as chief Council of Advice to the bishop.

Read more

Commission on Ministry

The Commission on Ministry (COM) consists of clergy and lay persons who work with the Bishop on the ordination process. They assist Bishop Lucinda in providing for the development, training and affirmation of the ministry of all persons in the church.

Read more

Missional Grants Committee

The Missional Grants Committee assists — financially and organizationally — all diocesan congregations that desire and show potential for growth and diversification of missional endeavors in their communities. The commission manages the Mission Opportunity Grant program and Missional Partnership Program.

Read more

Social Justice Committee

The vision of the Social Justice Committee is to foster and encourage ministry striving for justice and peace among all people. The Social Justice Committee connects to other organizations working in the same areas of interest. Within the Episcopal Church these include Sustain Island Home, the Episcopal Public Policy Network and the California Episcopal Public Policy Network. The committee supports organizations such as the Diocese of Navajoland and Cristosal.

Click here to follow our page on Facebook.


Diocesan convention is held primarily to gather delegates, alternates, clergy and friends in community while attending to the yearly business meeting of the diocese. Diocesan convention is an opportunity to engage in discussion and dialogue, to learn about new programs and to receive the reports of the bodies served by diocesan leaders.

Read more

Constitution and Canons

The Constitution and Canons are the written rules governing diocesan policy, structure and procedure. They must be in conformance with the Constitution and Canons of the national church.

Read more


Deaneries are regional groupings of parishes in the diocese. Three deaneries comprise the diocese of El Camino Real, representing San Luis Obispo, Monterey and Santa Clara Valley. A key deanery function is to elect regional representatives to various diocesan bodies. A hoped-for outcome is one of connection between communities, leaders, and clergy.

A listing of deaneries and congregations is featured on About the Diocese.

Liturgy Commission

The Liturgy Commission is a team of clergy and lay leaders devoted to creating diocesan liturgies and liturgies for special occasions. At times, members may be asked by the Bishop to explore liturgical alternatives.

Click here to read the Liturgy Commission Charter

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee provides financial analysis, advice, and oversight of the Diocesan budget. Their sole responsibility is to ensure the organization is operating with the financial resources it needs to provide programs and services to our community.

Click here to see the 2023 Finance Committee Roster.

Diocesan Leadership | The Episcopal Diocese of El Camino Real