General Convention is the highest governing body of The Episcopal Church, meeting every three years and made up of the Church’s bishops and elected lay and ordained deputies from each diocese. The 79th General Convention met at the Austin Convention Center in downtown Austin, Texas from July 5 – 13.

These were the calendars for General Convention, ECW and a draft GC Schedule. Review news and video clips of GC79 at the official Media Hub.

Scroll down for highlights about General Convention, our team of deputies and daily blog posts:

General Convention wrap-up: Following the Way of Jesus

Houses vote unanimously to admit Cuba as a diocese

Convention accepts $134 million three-year spending plan

General Convention unites behind immigrants, in prayer, action, legislation

Deputies pass more resolutions on Israel-Palestine, but fate is uncertain in House of Bishops

Clergy, lay leaders gather to bear witness to gun violence

Presiding Bishop Curry preaches at the Hutto Detention center

Presiding Bishop Curry urges Episcopalians to embrace “Way of Love” for spiritual growth

House of Deputies votes to begin process to revise the Book of Common Prayer

General Convention moves one step closer to sacramental marriage equality

Gay Clark Jennings re-elected for third, final term as deputies’ president

Committee sends to deputies a resolution to admit Cuba as a diocese

Bishops lament and confess the church’s role in sexual harassment, exploitation and abuse

July 5 Sermon by Presiding Bishop Michael Curry

Sermón del 5 de julio por el Obispo Presidente Michael Curry – 79.ª Convención General de la Iglesia Episcopal

Read General Convention blog posts from Katy Dickinson of El Camino Real:

A summary of GC79, July 15

Day Nine, July 12

Day Eight, July 11

Day Seven, July 10

Day Six, July 9

Day Five, July 8

Day Four, July 7

Day Three, July 6

Day Two, July 5

Day One, July 4

Who represented the Diocese of El Camino Real?
The members of our deputation, comprised of 8 deputies (4 clergy/4 lay) and 3 alternates (1 clergy/2 lay)., joined Bishop Mary in Austin as voting members of General Convention.

Lay Deputies
Nancy Cohen, All Saints, Palo Alto
Jeff Diehl, St. Barnabas’, Arroyo Grande, Chair
Tim Gee, St. Andrew’s, Saratoga
Celeste Ventura, St. Mary’s, Pacific Grove
Katy Dickinson, St. Andrew’s, Saratoga, Alternate
Bill Krivan, St. Francis, San Jose, Alternate (not attending)

Clergy Deputies
The Rev. Rob Fisher, St. Dunstan’s, Carmel Valley
The Rev. Terry Gleeson, All Saints, Palo Alto
The Rev. Maly Carswell Hughes, St. Francis, San Jose
The Rev. Barbara Miller, St. James’, Paso Robles
The Rev. Rob Keim, St. Barnabas’, Arroyo Grande

How is our deputation serving at General Convention?
Deputies and alternates from El Camino Real served on the following legislative committees:

Governance and Structure– Nancy Cohen
Prayer Book, Liturgy and Music– Rob Keim, Legislative Aide
Stewardship & Socially Responsible Investing– Barbara Miller
Environmental Stewardship and Care of Creation– Jeff Diehl, Vice Chair
Joint Standing Committee on Program, Budget and Finance– Tim Gee, Celeste Ventura
House of Deputies Resolution Review Committee– Nancy Cohen, Maly Hughes

How can I follow General Convention?
Bishops and deputies used a Virtual Binder via an iPad tablet, with legislation updated in real time as it moved through legislative committees and through the House of Deputies and House of Bishops. With General Convention completed, the Virtual Binder will remain online until Labor Day.

Review posts on Twitter with hashtags #GC79 and #WayofLove and our diocesan twitter page @RealEpiscopal.

Visit the Diocese of El Camino Real on Facebook to review posts from GC79; we hope you’ll continue to follow the page for future diocesan news and story links.